Skip to Main Content
31 October 2016

Single Jurisdiction in Northern Ireland

Commencing 31st October 2016

With effect from 31st October 2016 the jurisdiction of county courts and magistrates’ courts will no longer be determined by reference to County Court Divisions and Petty Sessions Districts.

Instead these courts will exercise jurisdiction throughout Northern Ireland, similar to the way in which the Crown Court already operates.

Practitioners should ensure that they and their staff are acquainted with the following documents:-




The Law Society of Northern Ireland website use cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them see our cookie policy

Accept and close