Skip to Main Content
26 June 2024

Permanent Secretary signs pledge to uphold the Rule of Law


The Law Society of Northern Ireland has thanked Hugh Widdis, Permanent Secretary of the Department of Justice for his support in signing The Pledge to Uphold the Rule of Law and the Independence of the Legal Profession.

The Pledge recognises the Rule of Law as the foundation of a just and democratic society, commit to supporting and upholding the independence of the legal profession and the judiciary which underpin the Rule of Law.

Mr Widdis joins other signatories to the pledge who have committed to upholding six key principles: 


  1. Independence,
  2. Responsibility,
  3. Fairness,
  4. Balance and impartiality,
  5. Transparency and
  6. Accuracy


Mr Widdis was joined at the signing by the Society’s President, Darren Toombs and Senior Vice President, Brian Archer.


The Law Society of Northern Ireland website use cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them see our cookie policy

Accept and close