Skip to Main Content

Northern Ireland Young Solicitors' Association

The Northern Ireland Young Solicitors' Association was set up in 1984 by Harry Coll, the then President of the Law Society of Northern Ireland.


The aims of the NIYSA are to:-

· represent the views of young solicitors in Northern Ireland;

· promote and advance the interests of young solicitors generally and those of the legal profession;

· organise activities of an educational and social nature; and

· encourage contact with other young solicitors’ Associations and with other professions.

Every solicitor who has not reached ten years’ post qualification experience (PQE) automatically becomes a member of the NIYSA.

The NIYSA held its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday 10th January 2018 when the following members were elected to the NIYSA committee for 2018:

Rachael Gamble (Cleaver Fulton Rankin) – Chair

Chris Kinney (Lacey Solicitors) – Vice Chair

Stephanie Johnston (Carson McDowell) – Treasurer

Lauren Jones (HHD Solicitors) – Secretary

Owen Williamson (Shean Dickson Merrick) – Membership Secretary

William Nugent (Thompson Crooks) – CPD Co-ordinator

Emma O’Donnell (Carson McDowell) – Committee Member

Ruaidhrí Austin (Lacey Solicitors) – Committee Member

John O’Kelly (HHD Solicitors) – Committee Member

David Cairns (Eamonn McEvoy & Co) – Immediate Past Chair

TBC – IPLS representative

How can I stay up to date with NIYSA events?

Join the NIYSA Facebook group at or follow us on Twitter at

Your name can also be added to our email distribution list by contacting our Membership Secretary, Owen Williamson, at

The Law Society of Northern Ireland website use cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them see our cookie policy

Accept and close