Skip to Main Content
20 April 2021

Brian Speers to Chair -Commonwealth Games Federation Ethics Commission

The Law Society of Northern Ireland has congratulated Council member and Treasurer, Brian Speers on his appointment as Chair of the Commonwealth Games Federation new Ethics Commission. Details below.


CGF launch new Ethics Commission

For immediate release on 20 April 2021

In keeping with the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) strategic priorities to ensure transparency, integrity and good governance at every level, the Federation has announced the formation of its new Ethics Commission with the first three members appointed.

Following on from the adoption of a comprehensive Code of Ethics and Conduct, the CGF Ethics Commission is a completely independent body tasked with maintaining the highest standards of probity throughout the Commonwealth Sport Movement.

The Commission will be Chaired by Brian Speers of Northern Ireland with Canada’s Dr Frank Fowlie named as Deputy Chair and Australia’s Sue Taylor AM appointed as an independent member.

Speers, who is the Treasurer and former President of the Law Society of Northern Ireland, practices as a solicitor in Belfast where he is managing partner of CMG Cunningham Dickey Solicitors.

In April 2019 he was elected as President of the Commonwealth Lawyers Association (CLA).  He has represented the CLA throughout the Commonwealth and has spoken regularly on a range of rule of law and human rights issues, legal profession independence, anti-corruption measures, disputes resolution, governance and access to justice.

Speers is Chair of the Law Society Mediation Service administered by the Law Society of Northern Ireland and is one of the most experienced legal mediators in Northern Ireland. A former Chair of the Education Committee of the Law Society of Northern Ireland he teaches Professional Conduct and Accounts to solicitors in training.

Deputy Chair Dr Frank Fowlie is a Chartered Mediator, conflict resolver and Accredited Peace Professional who is recognised as a leading authority on Ombudsman evaluation and Online Dispute Resolution.

The current Commissioner of Athletics Canada, Dr Fowlie served as Director of the Sport Dispute Resolution Centre of Canada from 2009 to 2015, and is presently a Director with the Canadian Sport Institute Pacific. He was also the Chef de Mission for the Individual Olympic Athletes from East Timor at the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games.

Sue Taylor AM, a retired paralegal, spent several decades as a volunteer Sport Administrator and is a former netball player, umpire and coach. She currently serves as Vice President of the International Netball Federation (INF). In 1999 Taylor was awarded the Order of Australia for services to the sporting industry.

Taylor is a long-time supporter of the Commonwealth Sport Movement, having previously served as a Board Member of both the CGF and Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games Organising Committee. In 2018, Taylor was awarded the Order of Merit by the CGF for services to Commonwealth Sport.

CGF President Dame Louise Martin DBE said: “I am delighted we have been able to appoint three individuals of such gravitas to lead our new Ethics Commission.

They will provide exceptional leadership as the Commission takes on a vital role to uphold the organisation's commitment to integrity, governance and transparency.

On behalf of the CGF Executive Board, I congratulate Brian, Frank and Sue on their appointments.”

CGF Ethics Commission Chair Brian Speers said: “I am honoured to be appointed to lead the independent CGF Ethics Commission.

The Ethics Commission will play a hugely important role – acting independently the Commission will develop, review and enforce the framework of ethical principles outlined in the CGF Code of Ethics and Conduct. It is a privilege to serve as the inaugural Chair.

Alongside my colleagues on the Commission, we look forward to supporting the CGF to strengthen the Commonwealth Sport Movement’s governance and integrity framework.”

CGF Ethics Commission Chair Deputy Chair Dr Frank Fowlie said: “I am deeply honoured to serve on the Ethics Commission. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Commission and the GCF.”

CGF Ethics Commission Independent Member Sue Taylor AM said: “I am fortunate to have worked as part of the Commonwealth Sport Movement for many years so I am absolutely delighted to have been appointed to the CGF Ethics Commission. I look forward to serving in the role alongside my excellent colleagues.”

Speers and Taylor have been appointed for four-year terms through to March 2025 with Dr Fowlie appointed for a two-year term to March 2023 for rotation purposes. Members of the Ethics Commission may be reappointed for one further term not exceeding four years.

The CGF Executive Board will continue its Commonwealth-wide recruitment to appoint additional members of the Ethics Commission.


About the CGF

The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) is the organisation that is responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games, and for delivering on the vision of the Commonwealth Sports Movement: through sport, we build peaceful, sustainable and prosperous communities across the Commonwealth.


For more information please contact:

CGF Media and Communications Manager

Tom Degun




The Law Society of Northern Ireland website use cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more details about cookies and how to manage them see our cookie policy

Accept and close