The Law Society of Northern Ireland - About Us

Skip Navigation

About Us

When was the Society established?

The Law Society of Northern Ireland was established in 1922 when a Royal Charter was granted to solicitors in Northern Ireland to permit the setting up of the Incorporated Law Society of Northern Ireland.


What does the Law Society do?

As laid out in the Royal Charter, the Law Society of Northern Ireland powers and duties are to represent and regulate the solicitors' profession in Northern Ireland with the aim of protecting the public. Under the Solicitors (Northern Ireland) Order 1976, the Law Society acts as the regulatory authority governing the education, accounts, discipline and professional conduct of solicitors in order to maintain the independence, ethical standards, professional competence and quality of services offered to the public.


How does the Law Society operate?

The Society operates through an elected Council of 30 members, all practising solicitors, who serve on a voluntary basis. The Council is guided by the Presidential team which consists of the President, Senior Vice President and Junior President. Each member of the Presidential team is elected to office and serves a year in each of the three positions.


List of the current Presidential Team Law Society Presidential Team
List of the current Council membersLaw Society Council Members
List of the Senior Management teamSenior Management Team


Who are the members of the Law Society?

Any solicitor whose name is on the Roll of Solicitors in Northern Ireland and who has not been suspended from practising as a solicitor may become a member of the Society on payment of the annual subscription for the time in force.

There are approximately 2300 plus solicitors currently practising in Northern Ireland. In Northern Ireland a solicitor is a member of that branch of the legal profession whose services consist of advising clients, representing them before the lower courts and preparing cases for barristers to try in the higher courts.


Are there Local Solicitors Associations and Groups?

Solicitor Associations provide support to local solicitors throughout Northern Ireland. They work with the Law Society on key issues of concern to the profession and to local members. Each local Solicitor Association has a chairperson and a Secretary. There are currently 17 local Solicitor Associations representing each area of Northern Ireland.


Notaries Public in Northern Ireland

Under the Solicitors (Northern Ireland) Order 1976, all solicitors are commissioners for oaths, which means that they can witness official documents other than those prepared by themselves or their opponents in a case.

Below is a list of solicitors in Northern Ireland who are Notaries Public. A notary public is an officer who can administer oaths and statutory declarations, witness and authenticate documents, and perform certain other acts depending on the jurisdiction. They can also witness documents for use abroad. To access the list of commissioners for oaths and notaries public in Northern Ireland please click below.